ABOUT THE BUILDING
St Pauls in the centre of Worthing is a fascinating building – a hidden treasure within the town.
Originally opened in 1812 as the ‘Chapel of Ease’ it was extended and officially became a parish church called St Pauls in 1893. The greek revival style – including the striking Doric Columns and portico along the front- was designed by John Rebecca. The building work was carried out by Ambrose Cartwright, who also built nearby Ambrose Place. The church comes under the Diocese of Chichester who have leased the building to a charitable trust who run St Paul’s for the benefit of the community. The building has a number of notable features – not least of which are the extraordinary coat of arms presented to the people of Worthing by Queen Charlotte (wife of George III) for showing kindness to her daughters – Princess Amelia and Charlotte – when they stayed in Worthing.
In it’s long and eventful history the building reached a dark moment in 1996 when it had to be closed due to an unsafe roof. Now officially Grade II* listed the church had to be saved from closer in December 2015 when it looked as if it may close. Over a thousand local residents petitioned to keep the building open – and were successful. St Paul’s remains an important place for the town not just because of it’s heritage but also because of it’s status as a multi-purpose arts venue.